Halterneck top out of a scarf – beginners sewing tutorial

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

This is a tutorial to show you how to create a summer halterneck top out of a scarf. It is really easy and suitable for beginners. This tutorial makes a halterneck backless top. You can use a sewing machine or sew by hand, as there is not much sewing involved.

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

It’s been quite a long time since I posted, but that has been because I have been sooo busy with life. So there is lots to catch up on, not least to introduce you to my new friend Dolly. I have always wanted a dress-maker’s dummy and now I have treated myself to Dolly. She lives in my sewing corner.

dolly
Dolly the Dressmaker’s Dummy

Sewing Tutorial – Halterneck Top out of a scarf

Today I want to share with you my tutorial for making a summer top out of an old scarf. I love upcycling charity shop clothes, and scarves are one way of buying interesting fabrics at a really cheap price.

Here are the steps in my sewing tutorial:

1. Lay out the scarf flat.

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Measure 20cm in from one corner and mark it on both sides.

3. Fold over the corner onto the wrong side of the fabric and pin it.

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Sew along the straight line leaving a channel for a ribbon. (the ribbon will become your neck fastening). Cut away the excess fabric.

5. Thread your ribbon (or elastic) through the channel as the neck fastening.

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Decide on your bottom hem finish. You can either leave the point at the bottom front or level it off flat as I did. My scarf was quite large and it would have hung down too far. I pinned my top to Dolly to measure the length, but you can easily do this by fastening it around your neck at the right height. Pin the bottom length and hem it. Cut away the excess fabric.

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Pin the two sides beind you to create the back of the top. Again, I did this by putting my top on Dolly, but you can also do this by trying it on again. It’s now time to decide what you would like the back of the garment to look like. You can leave it open-backed by just sewing the two points together, or you can create a bigger back pannel by attaching one of the sections you cut off earlier.

8. I placed one of the excess pieces into the gap at the back of the garment and pinned it along the lines of the pattern in the fabric.

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9. Sew the back together along the hem lines, and hem the top of the back section.

That’s it! All done.

Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial Upcycing scarf into halter neck top tutorial

Leave a Reply

